The Centre for Advanced Study (CAS) is governed by a Board of Directors. The board consists of six members and six alternates from a wide range of academic disciplines and institutions. The board is appointed by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (DNVA), the Norwegian Association of Higher Education Institutions (UHR), and the Research Council of Norway (NFR).

The board members and alternates attend four board meetings annually. The Secretary General of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (DNVA) participates as an observer.

The board, following a thorough evaluation process, is responsible for selecting the CAS projects.

The Board of Directors of the Centre for Advanced Study (CAS):

Photo: UiB

Chair

Professor Rolf K. Reed

Department of Biomedicine,

University of Bergen

Phone: +47 55 58 63 89
Rolf.Reed@uib.no
Photo: UiB
Vice Chair

Rector Dag Rune Olsen

University of Bergen

Phone: +47 55 58 20 02
rektor@rektor.uib.no

Photo: MF

Professor Kristin Bliksrud Aavitsland

Department Theology and History,
MF Norwegian School of Theology, Religion and Society

Phone: +47 22 59 06 15
Kristin.B.Aavitsland@mf.no

Photo: UiA

Professor Unni Langås

Department of Nordic and Media Studies,

University of Agder

Phone: +47 38 14 20 75
unni.langas@uia.no

Photo: NTNU

Professor Toril Aalberg

Department of Sociology and Political Science, 
Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Phone: +47 73 59 83 59
toril.aalberg@svt.ntnu.no
Professor Hans Petter Graver (Photo: UiO)

Photo: UiO

Professor Hans Petter Graver

Department of Private Law,

University of Oslo

Phone: +47 22 85 97 39
h.p.graver@jus.uio.no

Alternates:

Photo: UiO

Professor Aud V. Tønnessen 

(alternate for R. K. Reed)

Dean of the Faculty of Theology,

University of Oslo

Phone: +47 22 85 03 39
a.v.tonnessen@teologi.uio.no
Rector Anne Husebekk, UiT (Photo: Torbein Kvil Gamst)

Photo: UiT

Rector Anne Husebekk

(alternate for D. R. Olsen)

University of Tromsø – The Arctic University of Norway

Phone: +47 77 64 49 88
anne.husebekk@uit.no

Photo: UiO

Professor Knut Heidar

(alternate for K. B. Aavitsland)

Department of Political Science,

University of Oslo

knut.heidar@stv.uio.no

Photo: UiB

Professor Knut Helland 

(alternate for U. Langås)

Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences,

University of Bergen

Phone: +47 55 58 91 16
Knut.Helland@uib.no

Photo: UiT

Professor Anna Nylund

(alternate for T. Aalberg)

Faculty of Law,

University of Tromsø – The Arctic University of Norway

Phone: +47 77 64 91 73
anna.nylund@uit.no

Photo: UiT

Professor Kenneth Ruud

(alternate for H. P. Graver)

Pro-Rector for Research and Development,

University of Tromsø – The Arctic University of Norway

Phone: +47 77 62 31 01
kenneth.ruud@uit.no