The Academy was founded in 1857. It is a nationwide non-governmental body that seeks to advance scholarship in Norway through initiating and supporting research, sponsoring meetings and conferences, awarding scientific prizes, contributing to academic policy, and by acting in the best interests of scholarship.

CAS is an independent foundation, and not a part of the Academy. However, the two organisations share an enduring partnership.

The Academy participates in the selection of the CAS Board of Directors. Its Secretary General participates as an observer of the board meetings. CAS also rents office space from the Academy.

For further information, please visit the Academy's website.

More than 150 years of research advancement

The Academy is an interdisciplinary forum serving not only its members but also, more broadly, the academic sector as a whole. It arranges public lectures and monthly meetings on scholarly topics.

The Academy is divided into two divisions: the Natural Sciences Division and the Humanities and Social Sciences Division.

Membership of the Academy is awarded by election. A seat becomes vacant when a member dies or reaches the age of 70. As of 31 December 2017, the Academy had 903 total members.

The Abel Prize, the Kavli Prize, and the Fridtjof Nansen Award

The Abel Prize for mathematics is awarded annually by the Academy. The award is based on the recommendation of an international committee of prominent mathematicians.

The Academy also awards the Kavli Prize -- which is in fact three prizes -- for groundbreaking work in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience.

The Nansen Foundation is closely linked to the Academy. Each year, the annual meeting of the Academy awards the Fridtjof Nansen Award for excellence in research to two outstanding Norwegian scholars, and a special Nansen Award for young scholars.

The Young Academy of Norway

In 2015, DNVA established the Young Academy of Norway, an interdisciplinary organisation for young researchers, dedicated to research policy and dissemination.